❯   Reinforce the governance and resilience abilities to face climate change of the coastal and riverside communities throughout the St. Lawrence Gulf and Estuary   ❮

Home | News | Site Map |Contact

Looking Ahead

This CURA, in addition to promoting regional and institutional recognition of our universities, will increase student interest for participatory and interdisciplinary research integrating the social and territorial. In addition, the CURA formula helps to link members' research results (researchers and students) to concrete needs in the communities.

This CURA aims for an alignment of interdisciplinary training programs in regional development, environmental studies and Islands studies with the reality on the ground in order to rethink policies and practices of development in coastal areas. The structure that we adopt contributes to the training and employability of students. Moreover, it will be an opportunity to strengthen links between training centers of highly qualified personnel, particularly in regional and territorial development (UQAR), environmental management and integrated coastal zone management (University of Moncton) with programs in Environmental Sciences (University of Moncton and Mt-A) and the Islands study at UPEI, and other targeted programs in other participating universities. This alliance provides access to a large pool of students who come from varied disciplines and diverse programs (interdisciplinary profile).

These future professionals will support engagement processes adapted to the context of uncertainties, from the perspective of integrated and iterative management. This experience for researchers and students in assistantship opportunities will encourage students to pursue advanced studies, encourage retention of students in their studies and encourage participation in better workplace integration.

❯   Renforcer les capacités de gouvernance et de résilience au changement climatique des communautés côtières et riveraines de l’estuaire et du Golfe du St-Laurent   ❮

Accueil | Nouvelles | Plan du site |Contact

Les perspectives d'avenir

L'obtention de cette ARUC, en plus de favoriser la reconnaissance institutionnelle et régionale de nos universités, accroîtra l'intérêt des étudiants et des étudiantes pour la recherche interdisciplinaire et participative intégrant les aspects sociaux et territoriaux. De plus, la formule ARUC permet de lier les résultats de recherche des membres (chercheurs et étudiants) à des besoins concrets du terrain.

La présente ARUC vise un arrimage des programmes de formation interdisciplinaires tant en développement régional qu'en études environnementales et en études des Îles à la réalité des terrains, pour repenser les politiques et les pratiques de développement des territoires côtiers. La structure que nous adoptons contribue à la formation et à l'employabilité des étudiants. D'ailleurs, ce sera l'opportunité de renforcer les liens entre des centres de formation de personnel hautement qualifié, en particulier en développement régional et territorial (UQAR), en environnement et en gestion intégrée des zones côtières (Université de Moncton) et les programmes en Sciences de l'environnement (Université de Moncton et Mt-A) et l'étude des Îles à l'UPEI, ainsi que les autres programmes ciblés dans les autres universités participant à cette ARUC. Cette alliance permet d'avoir accès à un bassin d'étudiants important et qui proviennent de disciplines variées et de programmes diversifiés (profil interdisciplinaire).

Ces futurs professionnels pourront soutenir des processus d'engagement adaptés aux contextes d'incertitudes, dans une perspective de gestion intégrée et itérative. L'expérience des chercheurs et les possibilités d'assistanat des étudiants contribueront à inciter les étudiants à poursuivre des études avancées, à favoriser la rétention des étudiants dans leurs études et à participer à une meilleure insertion dans les milieux de travail.