❯   Reinforce the governance and resilience abilities to face climate change of the coastal and riverside communities throughout the St. Lawrence Gulf and Estuary   ❮

Home | News | Site Map |Contact

Advancement of knowledge and capacity building

Academically, we expect the advancement of knowledge in the field (environmental science, regional development and risk management) and the development of institutional links between universities offering programs in complementary subjects. We envision the possibilities of directing and co-directing students enrolled in graduate programs.

In terms of advancing knowledge, our contribution will be through publications (reports, scientific articles, book chapters) and through oral and written (proceedings). These productions will be distributed regionally, nationally and internationally. Exchanges between participants will stimulate the emergence of innovative research projects. In addition, this CURA will have a leveraging effect for participants who submit applications for funding (eg. SSHRC, NSERC, FQRSC, FQRNT, Trust Fund and Innovation NB, New Initiatives CRDT). Finally, the publishers at GRIDEQ, Island Studies Journal / Island Studies at UPEI, Press of the Univ. Moncton and the PUQ, will provide a range of quality publications at affordable cost. The accompaniment approach that participant's advocate will ensure exchanges with communities and knowledge transfer activities are stimulating and dynamic.

Together with partners, we will assist local communities in their ownership of integrated management and adaptation processes induced by participatory action research. In addition, the formation of this alliance will support networks at different scales (local, regional, national and international) and ensure the sustainability of these strengthened links between researchers and all local stakeholders in this vast territory. Through the documentation of each situation we will be able to provide partners with the necessary input to prepare strategies and action plans to meet their long-term needs around environmental issues. To achieve and ensure transfer of knowledge to all partners and their members, we may develop easily accessible centers of expertise and materials. This effort will result in the development of Internet tools, newsletters, seminars, workshops (intra and inter-provincial), annual meetings and the participation of members in lay journals.

Reinforcing community capacity to deal with environmental issues is at the heart of this CURA. This should enable partners to develop skills in terms of meetings, application of social science techniques, negotiation and consultation. In addition to increasing the credibility of partners with elected officials, the structure of this alliance will strengthen the linkages and networking of actors sharing common interests (e.g. discussions on strategic planning). This CURA will consolidate and improve the rate of participation of stakeholders in developing coping strategies of communities and water governance. The advantage of our participatory action research framework is that it equips decision makers (elected officials and public servants), non-governmental organizations and the private sector with effective and efficient development tools in governance, capable of achieving socio-ecological consensus. Several activities (partner-universities) will be required at all stages of co-construction/participation (research, training and dissemination).

❯   Renforcer les capacités de gouvernance et de résilience au changement climatique des communautés côtières et riveraines de l’estuaire et du Golfe du St-Laurent   ❮

Accueil | Nouvelles | Plan du site |Contact

L'avancement des connaissances et le renforcement des capacités

Au plan académique, nous anticipons un avancement des connaissances dans le domaine (sciences de l'environnement, le développement territorial et la gestion des risques) et le développement de liens institutionnels entre les universités qui dispensent des programmes d'études aux contenus complémentaires. Nous envisageons les possibilités de direction et de co-direction d'étudiants inscrits à des programmes d'études supérieures.

Au plan de l'avancement des connaissances, notre contribution se fera par l'entremise d'ouvrages (rapports, articles scientifiques, chapitres de livre) et par des communications orales et écrites (actes de colloque). Ces productions visent une diffusion régionale, nationale et internationale. Les échanges entre les participants stimuleront l'émergence de projets de recherches novateurs. De plus, l'ARUC aura un effet levier pour les participants qui soumettront des demandes de financement (p. ex. CRSH, CRSNG, FQRSC, FQRNT, Fonds de Fiducie et d'Innovation du N.-B, Nouvelles Initiatives du CRDT). Enfin, la maison d'édition du GRIDEQ, Island Studies Journal/Island Studies Press à l'UPEI de l'Univ. de Moncton et les PUQ pourront assurer une série de publications de qualité à des coûts abordables. La démarche d'accompagnement que les participants préconisent assurera aux échanges avec les communautés et aux activités de transfert de connaissances un cadre stimulant et dynamique.

Conjointement avec les partenaires, nous accompagnerons les communautés locales dans leur prise en charge des processus de gestion intégrée et d'adaptation, induite par la recherche action participative. De plus, la constitution de cette alliance permettra d'appuyer les réseaux à différentes échelles (locale, régionale, nationale et internationale) et d'assurer la pérennité des liens ainsi renforcés entre les chercheurs et tous les acteurs locaux concernés de ce vaste territoire. Les situations seront documentées, contribuant du coup à alimenter les partenaires lors de l'établissement des stratégies et des plans actions destinés à répondre aux enjeux environnementaux à long terme. Pour y parvenir et assurer un transfert de connaissance pour l'ensemble des partenaires et leurs membres, nous envisageons le développement de centres d'expertise et de matériels accessibles facilement. Cet effort se traduira par la mise sur pied d'outils internet, l'envoi de bulletins électroniques, la tenue de séminaires, d'ateliers (intra et inter provinciale), de l'assemblée annuelle, ainsi que la participation des membres à des revues de vulgarisation.

Le renforcement des capacités des communautés est au cœur de ce projet d'ARUC et doit permettre aux partenaires de développer des habiletés en termes de tenue de réunions, d'application de techniques des sciences sociales, de négociation et de concertation. En plus d'accroître la crédibilité des partenaires auprès des élus, la structure de cette alliance renforcera le maillage et le réseautage des acteurs partageant des intérêts communs (p. ex discussions portant sur la planification stratégique). L'ARUC permettra de consolider et d'améliorer le taux de participation des acteurs dans l'élaboration des stratégies d'adaptation des communautés et de gouvernance de l'eau. L'avantage de notre cadre de recherche action participative est qu'il équipe les décideurs (élus et fonctionnaires), les organismes non-gouvernementaux et privés d'outils d'élaboration de modes de gouvernance, efficaces et efficients, permettant d'atteindre des consensus socio-écologiques. Plusieurs activités (partenaires-universités) seront tenues à toutes les étapes de la co-construction/participation (recherche, formation et diffusion).